Engineering Freshman Year - How it Went?

ยท

3 min read

Like everyone, my dream was also to do my Graduation from a Government College, and worked hard for it too but all of it went in vain due to my health conditions. By then I had made up my mind that College will not define how my career will be, I got admission into Ajay Kumar Garg Engineering College which is based in Ghaziabad with Computer Science as my specialization.

I had already planned everything from the start that how I will manage my time and what things to learn in Tech but planning is only the 0th step of achieving a goal, you have to work on that plan and execute it. Starting two months went online and to be honest, those 2 months went doing absolutely nothing but it was full of seeing the roadmaps online, lol! The actual work started only when College started in offline mode, I started off with Essential DSA and actually enjoyed writing the codes, and got off with a few code practicing websites. Competitive Programming was on the list and one of my friends introduced me to Codechef and Codeforces.

Life was good until I started giving contests on Codeforces, I still remember giving my first contest and not being able to solve a single problem during the contest, but I didn't lose hope and gave another contest and still wasn't able to solve a single problem. It was a very low time and it felt like programming and stuff weren't for me, but still kept patience thinking that it happens with everyone. Didn't got much time in the first semester as the college was strict regarding attendance and academics instead of students gaining skills.

image.png

As the second semester was approaching everyone around me was doing development and once a wise man said "As the old cock crows, so crows the young", so did I. Started with Web Development, and by the end of the second semester I was able to make proper front-end models and by then the result of the First semester was also out and I got an unexpected 7.45 GPA (boasting). Currently given my Second-semester exams and there's a chance of getting a backlog in Maths-2 because the question paper was horrible and I don't want to remember those three hours.

Present Day Talks

Enjoying the end semester break and learning ReactJS and continuing with Data Structures, also have reached 2 stars on CodeChef and yes, now I'm able to solve at least 1 question in codeforces contests (haha). I Can't wait to start my second-year journey where I am planning to manage things with ease and grow more with the people around me, focusing more on development instead of doing competitive programming which actually doesn't have any scope. Shoutout to Kunal Kushwaha for inspiring me to Blog.

Thanks for giving your time to this Blog.

P.S. This is my first Blog (a short one) so if I've written something that shouldn't have been there please don't judge me๐Ÿ˜‚

ย